Stainton C of E Primary School
Enjoy, Aspire, Achieve
Home Page


At Stainton CE Primary School, we feel that educating our children about how to stay safe, how to cope with and manage their emotions as well as learning about how to celebrate difference is a key priority. We incorporate PSHE (personal, social and health education) as well as SMSC (spiritual, moral, social and cultural development) across our curriculum. We use the Jigsaw approach in our school. 


Jigsaw PSHE brings together Personal, Social, Health and Economic education, emotional literacy, social skills and spiritual development in a lesson-a-week programme.


Jigsaw is sequential, the six puzzles (units) starting with 'Being Me in My World' (BM) at the beginning of the school year and working through to the end of the year:

  1. BM (Being Me in My World)
    'Who am I and how do I fit?'

  2. CD (Celebrating Difference)
    Respect for similarity and difference. Anti-bullying and being unique

  3. DG (Dreams and Goals)
    Aspirations, how to achieve goals and understanding the emotions that go with this

  4. HM (Healthy Me)
    Being and keeping safe and healthy

  5. RL (Relationships)
    Building positive, healthy relationships

  6. CM (Changing Me)
    Coping positively with change

Each puzzle has six lesson plans accompanied by all of the teaching and learning materials needed to deliver them.


Jigsaw is a comprehensive scheme of learning for Nursery children right through to Year 6. The following aspects are included:


  • PSHE Education
  • Relationship and Sex Education
  • Drug and Alcohol Education
  • Cyber and Homophobic Bullying
  • Body-image
  • Self-esteem
  • Health Education
  • Financial Capability
  • Emotional Literacy
  • Social Skills
  • Spiritual Development
  • SMSC opportunities throughout
  • Weekly Behaviour Focus
  • Reward Systems